ARC Review: Heartless

Heartlesspic

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Release Date: November 8, 2016

Source: ARC from ALAAC 16

Regular View Header

When I registered for the annual ALA conference, I was really hoping that Heartless was going to be there! On the very first morning of the conference I was full of nerves because it was dropping as soon as the doors opened at 9. Luckily, we were able to rush over and snag our copies. My heart was fluttery with happiness when it was in my hands and I knew it would be the first arc I would read.

I was a huge fan of the Lunar Chronicles, but unfortunately I’ve never been a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland. I always found the setting and characters a bit too creepy for my tastes. Oddly enough, the creepiness was my favorite part of Heartless. The first half was snail’s pace for me and I was beginning to become a little disappointed. I feared that I had ruined the book with my expectations because of the author. Thankfully, things turned around in a BIG way around the 300 page mark.

It’s obviously not a spoiler that Catherine becomes the Queen of Hearts who is known for being bitter and evil. While she’s the main character, and I liked her well enough, she was not the highlight for me. I fell in love with the characters Jest, Hatta, and even Raven. They weren’t always what they seemed and it made you really question your feelings.

I really appreciate when an author is super clever, and there’s no denying that Marissa Meyer definitely thought about the big picture and was creative in the way that she tied the story together. I know that some people skip the Author’s Note, but I highly recommend following up with that. Overall, I would rate this a solid 4 stars. Is it as good as her other work? Not in my opinion. However, it was an interesting representation of a prequel to a classic character.

Rating 4

Have you read Heartless? What was your favorite part? Did you think it was as good as the Lunar Chronicles? 🙂Slide1

 

Leave a Reply

