ARC Review: How to Hang a Witch

Math_9780553539479_jkt_all_r1.indd

Book: How to Hang a Witch

Author: Adriana Mather

Pub Date: July 26, 2016

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (Random House)

Source: ARC from ALAAC 2016

Regular View Header

In high school, I was obsessed with the Sweep Series by Cate Tiernan. It revolved around new-age witchcraft, or Wicca, and I’ve continued to have an interest in books with witchcraft as an element of the plot. I was really excited to find this book at ALA…with the help of MC from Blame the Books, my personal savior that weekend. 🙂

When I initially started reading How to Hang a Witch I was not impressed with the writing style and some of the clichés, but there was something about it that made me want to keep reading it. I’m thankful that I did! I loved the more elaborate parts of the plot that involved the curse surrounding the descendants of the original Salem families. There were definitely some real life parallels concerning bullying and the impact it can have. Any time an author makes a point to seamlessly include a lesson that readers can identify with I’m impressed and appreciative. Identifying with a storyline or its characters are the parts of a book that leads to truly loving it.

Speaking of characters…ELIJAH! I have to say that he was by farrr my favorite part of this story. He maintained an air of mystery that was just so enticing and made me want to find out more about him. He had this overwhelming love for his sister that was seriously endearing. I really loved watching him evolve and reading the different parts of his personality.

Finally, Adriana Mather deserves a round of applause. I like to think that I’m really pretty good at making predictions and getting some intuitive vibes when I read. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but I will say I was surprised by certain parts of it!

Rating 3.jpg

I rated this a 3.5 stars simply because while the writing style wasn’t very sophisticated and it contained some eye-roll worthy clichés at times, I still really enjoyed the book. If you’ve read it, please let me know what you thought!

Leave a Reply

